Central European Free Trade Agreement Secretariat

Following Kosovo`s declaration of independence on 17 February 2008, UNMIK continued to take Kosovo`s place at all CEFTA meetings. At the end of 2008, Kosovo changed its customs marks and replaced a MIMIK with Kosovo. The result has been a trade blockade of Serbia and Bosnia, which the Republic of Kosovo does not recognize. [6] The Pristina government has done the same by blocking its own imports from Serbia. This led to clashes at border crossings in July 2011. [7] All parties to the original agreement had now joined the EU, leaving CEFTA. It was therefore decided to extend CEFTA to the rest of the Balkan countries that had already concluded a matrix of bilateral free trade agreements under the Stability Pact for South-Eastern Europe. On 6 A joint declaration on the extension of CEFTA to Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Serbia, Montenegro and UNMIK (on behalf of Kosovo) was adopted at the Summit of The Prime Ministers of South-Eastern Europe held in Bucharest on 24 April 2006. [3] Ukraine`s accession was also discussed. [4] The new enlarged agreement was initialled in Brussels on 9 November 2006 and signed on 19 December 2006 at the Summit of South-East European Prime Ministers in Bucharest. [5] The Agreement entered into force on 26 July 2007 for Albania, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro and North Macedonia, on 22 August for Croatia, on 24 October for Serbia and on 22 November 2007 for Bosnia and Herzegovina. The objective of the agreement was to create a free trade area in the region by 31 December 2010. .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by neil. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.